Testimonials

Additional current testimonials can be found at http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Civilian:


I had the pleasure of attending a Low Light/Active Shooter response class with Combative Weapon Solutions in Cresson, Texas over the weekend. As a professional trainer, I make it a point to try and get to at least a couple of classes a year not only to develop my personal skills as a shooter but to learn teaching/coaching techniques from my peers. I heard about Combative Weapon Solutions after reading some articles by Lee Vernon on the Personal Defense Network website over the past couple of years and through mutual friends in Texas. Bottom Line Up Front: this class is a must have for anyone who owns a firearm for self-defense inside the home or carries one in the public space. The quality of instruction was top notch and the curriculum was both eye-opening and challenging for any level of shooter.

Day 1 Low Light: One of the things that all gun owners are concerned about is self-defense inside the home. I hear a lot of shooters discussing the hardware that goes into home defense but it’s a rare occasion when I hear anything about the software. It is one thing to have a weapon for defending yourself and your family inside the home but knowing how to employ it in a worst case scenario is something too many gun owners take for granted. One thing that this class stresses is having a practical plan for what to do in the event of a home invasion. Depending on the layout of your home and the size of your family, it is likely that you may find yourself needing to move through the structure in the dark after an alarm goes off or glass breaks, alerting you to a potential threat. The first instinct for any parent is going to be to move to the kids and ensure their security as quickly as possible. This may necessitate moving through areas where the threat could be present and where darkness is a huge factor that can limit your security and mobility. This class will teach you basic, practical tactics and techniques for navigating your home with a weapon and flashlight when you are forced to do so by the circumstances. After working through the tactics in the early evening, you will get several opportunities to run through scenarios that force you to move through the darkness, identify and address threats, and continually ramp up your stress level. This class is the only one I have taken that actually employs shoot/no-shoot threat recognition and 3 dimensional targets. I believe that advanced classes spend way too much time repeatedly dumping ammo into the same paper target without stressing the importance of recognizing an actual threat before employing deadly force. CWS does a great job of incorporating this principle and holding students accountable for their actions inside of each scenario. I can definitely say that I was pushed to my limits and picked up some definite areas for improvement. Most of those areas involve cognition, awareness, and problem solving as opposed to pulling the trigger as I was forced to process a ton of information before shooting, which proved to be considerably challenging. I now have more confidence in my ability to move through the darkness if I am forced to secure my family in that worst case scenario and some things I can practice on my own even with dry-fire (my wife is going to love being blinded by my surefire during said practice sessions).

Day 2 Active Shooter Response: Though still exceedingly rare, active shooter incidents where a psychopath walks into the public space intent on killing as many people as possible are definitely on the rise. A lot of CHL/CCW holders will talk about their preparedness to deal with this scenario but it typically doesn’t leave the realm of the imagination for most. The types of places that spree murderers are likely to target are about as far away from the square range as you can get. Innocent bystanders will be everywhere, crowds will be stampeding, and chaos will be the name of the game. If all you do is stand in front of paper and work on front sight focus and split times, you are kidding yourself. The active shooter scenario is pretty much the definition of off-balance. I am a big proponent of doing things that work well with what the body does naturally and working your skills in as much context as possible. This class does just that by taking the square range and getting it as close to a shoot house as the berms will allow. You will learn how to use cover, shoot from unorthodox positions, safely move through crowds with a weapon, and get the hits that you need to get when your heart rate is up, your target is obscured, and your senses are overloaded. The scenarios you get the opportunity to run at the end of the class are well worth the price of admission and more. I have not seen stress inoculation done properly since I left the military as it is usually just a cheesy “let’s scream ‘threat’ really loud at the line” type of thing. The guys at CWS do it the right way. I can definitely say that I haven’t been put to the test like I was in this class in any of the classes I have attended on the civilian side up to this point. I was pushed to my limits and then some. When you see your performance under these circumstances, I can promise that it will cause you to re-evaluate how “ready” you really are for this type of scenario.

I highly recommend that you add this class to your training to-do list. I would also like to point out that not everyone in the class was an experienced shooter. We had guys of all skill levels including complete novices. Lee and Chris slowed down and tuned up the less experienced guys when they needed to and didn’t slack on pushing the more experienced guys at the same time. While I would definitely recommend a good fundamentals class before you sign up for a more scenario-focused class, I wouldn’t shy away from attending this class if they are in your area regardless of where you are as a shooter. The guys at CWS have the perfect combination of real world experience and down to earth professionalism. They don’t condescend or try to intimidate you with war stories or bore you with internet regurgitations. They know their stuff and they impart their knowledge very effectively. Get out there and find a Combative Weapons Solutions class near you. I will definitely be training with these guys again.

http://fundamentaldefense.org/2014/09/09/aar-combative-weapon-solutions-low-lightactive-shooter-response-cresson-tx-september-6-7-2014/

Aaron I. | Sept, 2014

Review / AAR – Combative Weapon Solutions : low light tactics / active shooter response class

Here is the deal , everyday we wake up there is a chance that we will encounter violence. If you don’t believe that well then I probably just can’t reach you then. Now we are humans so we seek out ways to increase our survivability in those encounters. So we arm our self and get a CHL and then boom…we are ready for anything.
We can’t be more wrong.
I don’t care what high speed low drag pistol you have or holster you carry (or if you wear the 5.11 tuxedo everyday). You can have all the proper equipment in the world but it is not hardware that wins gunfights it’s software (knowledge , training , experience).
That’s where proper education comes into play. This class was divided into two days Our low light and active shooter response. Lets break it down…

Low light : Have you ever tried to walk through your house in the dark and hit you leg on the coffee table? Yea of course you have…because everything ( including familiar) things change in the dark. That being said now consider defending yourself or loved ones in low light / no light conditions with a flashlight and a tool that discharges deadly force?
Mind Blown right? The low light section of class enables the student to grasp core concepts of types of light and how effective they can be to your advantage or disadvantage as well as what are the failure points of that light. The various types of flashlight ( sorry “illumination tool” if you speak Operator) positions and holds are gone over and addressed with how effective they are in different situations / positions. You are also taught to move methodically through rooms with the point that we are not out on a Seal Team Delta 6 hunter / killer black ops mission. There can be and will be people in the dark that you must not shoot. This is not a game of flashlight tag at dusk or in the dark. I have taken this section before from the CWS and not only do I refine and learn new things every time but the equipment and didactic section evolves with student input and instructor guidance. Needless to say the second time around was just as important than the first.

Active Shooter Response : This is reality…the harsh and bitter truth. I won’t go on to elaborate examples much because well look at the news. Anytime and anywhere someone may just decide it’s a fine day to go killing. Remember and active shooter is not just high profile events like school shootings it can happen in your town at any event. To some people life has no value. Remember that. This class was based upon you being alone or with family you need to defend in an Active Shooter event. This is statistically true due to major metropolitan police response on average being 7 minutes and a full mass killing lasting between 3-8 minutes or so. You do the math…you will be alone and there is no “4 man DEVGRU or SWAT team Operators” to back you up. Uncommon shooting positions will be taught and run through. You will efficiently and safely work your weapon on your back , side ect ect. Now teaching shooting from different positions is quite common…..unfortunately in the real world we have tables and chairs and couches and walls in the way. Incorporating shooting with “barricades” is essential if you are going to win a gunfight in the real world. You will be moving and shooting for accuracy and combat effectiveness. This is not a “square range” I am going to shoot 10000 rounds into a target day. If you train in a square range you can only hope to survive a gun fight standing up in a telephone booth ( if you are too young Google “Telephone Booth:). Get used to getting dirty , dusty and possibly *gasp* scratching your weapon on this day. The real world starts here.

In closing if would touch on three things : The instructor cadre , how they push you and live fire.
This class incorporates live fire throughout…You will be running your weapon in almost no light ( never ever take a shot without positive threat identification) in confined spaces and while moving / in odd positions. CWS understands that while this may be seen as a risk they have gone to extensive measures to make it as safe as possible and plan for the worse.
( my tactical medic buddies should know there was a plan about landing areal assets and medics on scene with equipment). That being said you do not know how different it is to reload , clear malfunctions ect until you have done so in the dark (remember the coffee table?) or in a odd position. New level all together. During the two days you will be stressed….no really they will stress your cardiovascular and mental aspects. I wont go into detail how but for those of you that have taken Cypress Creek EMS’s TOMS course…..yea it’s a lot like that. When SHTF you will not be calm , any skill worth doing must be done under body alarm response. This is an on the move / in the dark gunfight not a “gundisagreement”.
Finally I would like to mention the instructor cadre. They bring real world experience and hours and hours of self study the table. A thing that impresses me is the rate in which they take other classes…..any teacher worth learning from is forever a good student. They will push you (no really they will push you) but only because if not what is the purpose? You have to learn to fight and funnel violence to a threat as fast as possible without killing anyone that must not be killed. They will test your resolve. They do so without being all “well i am operator as f*ck and you don’t know”. They are approachable , genuine and real.
Software wins gunfights and will enable you and your loved ones to survive. Without knowledge and only a tool you are inherently borderline dangerous. In order to be prepared you must train and train…with that I would recommend Combative Weapon Solutions for real , relevant , and realistic instruction. Check out their FB / website and share it ( FB sucks these days for page reach btw) and look at their class schedule.
Thanks for reading and stay frosty out there.

Jeremiah Z. | Sept, 2014

I recently took their CHL class and it was amazing.  Very informative and a lot of fun.  Not only did we cover the standard curriculum, but we also learned important shooting technique.  If your going to be a gun owner its important to have sound knowledge and accurate training with your weapon and this company provided both.  I was nervous going into the class and was made to feel right at ease from the beginning.  Lee was our instructor and was very open and accommodating to the different learning styles of the participants.  I will continue to take classes from these guys because they know what they are doing, and they care about your overall experience in their class.  Learned a lot and feel a ton more comfortable being a responsible gun owner now; plus they are a lot of fun and had me smiling & laughing all day.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Kai O. | August, 2014

I took the CHL class today and it was definitely eye opening.  I didn’t expect to walk out with all of the knowledge that I received today.  It is definitely not as easy as one might think.  It’s not just shooting a target.  I have a lot to learn and a long way to go to become well trained and I will continue to take classes that this company offers.  Lee Vernon was our tactical instructor and I was very impressed by what he had to teach us.  Matt taught us about Texas law and that really changed my way of thinking.  I will definitely be taking more classes through this group of guys.  Highly recommend them to anyone who is looking to become more knowledgeable about owning and handling a handgun.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin?hrid=e7w2iji1aZCuxQ86fWLRAg

Jennifer O. | July, 2014

First of all, thank you very much for the class today. I felt it was well presented, and fun, and I learned a ton. You know your stuff, and are extremely passionate, and it shows.  Through your passion, and your knowledge, and your humanity, I get excited about what you’re preaching.  I am so inspired by you guys, that I find myself thinking about your classes in relation to the things that motivate me to achieve new heights in the endeavors I pursue. I find myself using my time and energy thinking about your classes, and that’s due to your inspiration.  Thank you for what you do, and thank you for how you do it. It is obvious you are doing it for the right reasons, and that is why there is no doubt in my mind that you will continue to have success.

Tyler | July, 2014

My wife and I just completed the Critical Care Concepts Advanced First Aid class. Lots of great information “like drinking from a firehose” but put forth in a concise and logical manner. Learned what we can do as a true first responder and what works in an IFAK. Best if all was the hands on practical portion where it really all comes together.  Highly, highly recommended.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin?hrid=LMJ_KS8jeHTfMzqJDKj24w

Louie R.| July, 2014

I recently took the 1 day Critical Care concepts class from CWS.  To sum it all up – it was great!  The day was jam packed with great info and it was all extremely relevant stuff.  We would cover a section in detail, ask/answer questions, and then get hands on practicing.  At the end of the day there was sort of capstone exercise to put everything your learned to work.  Lee (the instructor) is full of experiences from the course of his career which meant that he could provide actual scenarios he has been in for just about any topic we were talking about.  I highly recommend the training with CWS and am planning on taking future classes with them.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin?hrid=iMVWGmPfzwOzkjdw4X0mpg

Jonathan C. | July, 2014

As of this writing, I have attended two Combative Weapon Solutions classes. First being the Carbine 1 and Defensive Pistol 2. I say “as of this writing” because I will be attending more courses with Lee Vernon and his crew without a doubt. Taking these classes made me realize that how much I didn’t know about keeping my weapon running and how little stress is needed to make your current skills turn to mush right in front of you.  I grew up shooting and have been licensed to carry a concealed pistol for over 10 years.  Even with all my experience being around firearms, I learned sooo much more. The material is reality based and is not just shooting dots on paper.  Each drill, each topic, each scenario will make you think. Being able to think through a situation is such a valuable skill to have and hone.  Loading and shooting at a static range will only take you so far.  Spending gobs of money on new whiz bang gadgetry for your weapon will not make you a better shooter.  Seeking additional training to better yourself will.  Training with CWS will get you there and it will get you there affordably. Class rates are more than reasonable and are the best I’ve found.  If anyone is on the fence about taking a class with CWS, do it.  Next on my list is Critical Care Concepts, and the women’s class for my wife.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin?hrid=muVzfMb2pxnke7M1I0pQ8A

Kenneth F. | June, 2014

I recently took up shooting a couple of years ago. I got as good as I could get by being self taught. I decided I need better training and have taken multiple classes throughout Texas. I took my first class from CWS this past weekend. I was very impressed. They know their stuff. I took a critical care / low light / urban defense three day class and it was awesome. The scenarios they run you through are pretty amazing. I signed up to take another class with them in a couple of months. I am just an average dude. I am a dentist by profession. But I am a father and husband. I am the one in charge of protecting my family. When seconds count, cops are minutes away. I look forward to training with CWS again. I live in Houston but made the drive to shoot with CWS. It was well worth the drive!   Stay safe.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Dr. Michael Nugent | June, 2014

I recently took the Carbine 1 class through CWS and I couldn’t be more pleased with the training and knowledge we were given. The instructors were highly experienced, professional and very easy to talk to. We were taught weapon manipulation, clearing multiple types of jams, different shooting positions from various ranges and most importantly they put extra extra emphasis on safety throughout the whole class! Lee, Rom, Kacy, Chris and Paul were outstanding instructors! If you own a carbine or pistol and especially if you haven’t had any proper training with your weapon, I definitely recommend CWS. Their classes are for all skill levels wanting to expand their knowledge with their weapon. You will be glad you chose CWS!

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Gabriel M. | June, 2014

My wife and I took Defensive Handgun 1 yesterday in Bastrop, TX. I was very impressed by well they were organized and were able to make the most of our time there. Lee and Chris and all the instructors are very knowledgeable when I comes to their craft and it shows that the genuinely care about making sure that you leave that day having learned more than you did when you came. Safety is their foremost concern on the range, as it should be. At no time did I feel uneasy or unsafe during the class. We had a full class but they split us into smaller groups which gave everyone the ability to work one to one with them. This is a must for anyone that carriers a gun or owns one for that matter. We already signed up for another class this June. Great class!!! Two thumbs way up!

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Josh D. | May, 2014

I took the defensive pistol class today and it was great.  Lee and the guys were spot on when it came to correcting some issues I was having firing my pistol.  The drills they have you do start easy and get progressively more complex.  By the end you’re amazed at what all you’ve learned and your confidence in yourself and your ability has skyrocketed.  Anyone interested in becoming more proficient in what they do should seriously consider taking one of their classes.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Greg F. | May, 2014

This week I attended the active shooter response concepts class outside of Houston.  The class was excellent.  We started out with fundamentals, as has every class I have taken, even the advanced ones.  After confirming that everyone was safe with sound handling skills, some with minor changes suggested in grip etc., we went on to more challenging shooting exercises.  We spent some time in short lectures, then back onto the range.  Both Chris and Lee are good instructors, they communicate well without talking down to anyone.  They are respectful of every one while having a sense of humor to help bring home a serious subject.  They ran a hot range that was always safe.  The low light work was great, although I have been through a couple night shoot classes, I learned a number of techniques I had not seen before.  As the class progressed we started having to work under stress to see how it may be in a real life situation.  This was my favorite part of the class, testing my ability to function under pressure.  I hope to never use any of these lessons in a bad situation, but do feel more confident that I will be able to handle it if I am ever in one.  Thanks for the Fabulous class!

Randall H. | April, 2014

Low light / Active Shooter Response – This is the first advanced firearm course I have taken and the bar has been raised … Chris and Lee are confident in their ability and knowledge as well as patient in addressing questions or concerns fielded by the class.  They are thoughtful in how they teach the content with safety in mind at all times.  Their approach is very interactive and makes you realize that standing in front of a paper target does not get you prepared for real-world scenarios.  If you have your CHL, you owe it to yourself and others to take a course from Combative Weapon Solutions.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Todd T. | April, 2014

I took the CHL/intro to handgun course, and was extremely pleased with the guidance I got from the instructors. I was expecting a clinical, theoretical experience, but actually got a much more practical outlook on the subject. I would absolutely recommend CWS.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Davis R. | April, 2014

In one class, Lee Vernon & Paul Martinez of Combative Weapon Solutions and Mat Unruh of Round 2 Brass molded this “Barney Fife” into a confident gun user – rackin’ the slide with ease. Lee’s detailed demonstration; clear, succinct instruction; and handy visual cues made it easy to implement and replicate proper shooting stance and technique. They apply their personal knowledge of service to their country and communities when teaching the class. Lee not only wants students to learn about firing a weapon but also the responsibility that comes along with it. My husband and I intend to take several CSW’s classes to hone our practical-use skills. Old, young, beginner or advanced – there’s a CSW class for you. Consummate pros, extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Plus, they’re genuinely nice guys.

Thanks again.

Vanessa C. | April, 2014

I have participated in three classes through CWS, and enjoyed them all immensely. Lee, Chris, and all the instructors know their stuff, are personable, and make it a ton of fun. But beyond being fun, I have learned a heck of a lot from these guys. The content is applicable to real-world situations, and expressed clearly and concisely. I’m new to shooting, so these classes have been invaluable to me. If you’re going to own a gun, you better know how and when to use it, and it’s a lot more complicated than point-and-shoot, I’ve learned. But these classes aren’t just for new shooters; many of the students in the classes I have been to have been much more experienced than I, and they got every bit as much out of it as I did. Check CWS out, you won’t regret it.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Tyler S. | March, 2014

I took my first pistol training class with these guys last weekend.  I had gotten my CHL last fall and have been looking for a class to prepare me for real world scenarios.  This place is it.  The guys teach a very informative, exciting, practical and fun course.  I took the Urban Defense Concepts / Low Light Night Time Concepts course.  I was challenged the entire time we were training.  I fully plan to take more courses from them and would recommend any one looking for weapons training to look into these courses.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Travis G. | March, 2014

To be honest, this was the fist handgun training course I had taken outside the Navy.  I am a retired Naval Aviator and though we had pistol qualifications, it was not of the caliber required to become proficient and prepare yourself for the responsibilities of concealed carry.  So to start out, I did not know what to expect but as a retired military officer, I do expect certain qualities in any course or class I take; professionalism, subject matter experts, instructor leadership, confidence, etc.  I can honestly say CWS, led by Lee Vernon, exceeded all my expectations.  They were professional, great personalities, able to relate to the students and push the students to limit without going over into a grey area where safety is compromised.  There was a lot to learn in two days but again, the instructors all did a fantastic job of communicating the days lesson, demonstrating the drills, keeping stress on to aid training all the while keeping a safe environment in which to train.   I absolutely recommend CWS for the novice to expert, to either learn or fine tune their skills as there is always room to grow, learn from others who have been there done that.  Outstanding class of people and company.  The course I took was the Urban Defense/Low Light handgun course.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Chris M. | March, 2014

I attended the Urban Defense Concepts training 3/1-3/2.  This was a great class!  I really enjoyed it from beginning to end in spite of the weather conditions.  What a great opportunity to train on a sunny 75 degree day then train in the rain at around 35 degrees the next day!!  Chris is a talented facilitator delivering the subject matter in a clear and concise manner easy for adults to grasp.  Lee and ROM helped keep things going smoothly and added great value by attending to individual student needs for clarity and guidance.  We were using live ammo in stressful scenarios and I always felt safe but challenged during every evolution.  In the world of tactical training you often get stuck with testosterone driven over opinionated individuals that unfortunately give this type of training a bad rap but this is not the case at CWS in any way.  Lee, Chris and ROM are normal guys with high level skills that are humble and willing to share their knowledge with individuals seeking this type of training.  I will be back for more training with CWS for sure and would recommend these guys to anybody interested in tactical training.  I look forward to the carbine class next!!!!

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Damon W. | March, 2014

As a CHL holder there are certain responsibilities I must take,and one of those responsibilities is the proper real life scenario training.In saying that I started training last year with CWS.Ive taken there pistol 1 and pistol 2 class and what an eye opener.These classes are real life stress induced training with no holding back.The pistol classes exceeded my expectations so much I decided to continue my training with CWS and took the two day Urban defensive tactics/Low light no light class.The things that you learn in these classes include clearing rooms(under high stress)in response to a home invasion or a active shooter with low to no light.You will learn these tactics alone and with a two man team,That’s just day one.Day two is a whole other animal.You will train in car jacking tactics(alone and with a passenger).Train from the ground in many different positions.Train in taking cover in different environments using the different positions you have trained in.In the end I would like to thank the highly educated and extremely skilled instructors(Lee,Chris and Rom)at CWS.I highly recommend CWS for new shooters…women or advanced shooters.check out their website and give a look at upcoming classes.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Angelo M. | March, 2014

My brother and I have taken two private lessons with Lee and we just can’t get enough. Lee’s background gives him a diverse perspective when working with 2 novice shooters. His patience and adaptability have given us the opportunity to really improve our shooting and combative skills.
He really relates the training to real world situations while also making it a ton of fun. We recommend with the fullest regard Lee and his team at CWS.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Sergio | February, 2014

Lee,

Thanks for a great class.  Critical Care Concepts 101 is something everyone should take, especially CCW holders.  The course was full of simplified lifesaving concepts. It’s not going to make you a paramedic but will give you the skills to save a friend or family member in the event of a serious injury.  It was awesome to learn how to use the different medical products available, and makes it easier to put together a small trauma kit.   Highly recommend.

Doug | January, 2014

Critical Care First Aid Concepts and Advanced Handgun

Date: November 23rd and 24th 2013

Instructors: Lee Vernon and Brannon LeBouef

Location: Impact Zone Hempstead, TX

Cost: $400

200-300 rounds

This class was a collaboration between Lee Vernon of Combative Weapon Solutions and Brannon LeBouef of NOLATAC. Lee who is a Austin, TX EMT of 20+ years taught the Critical Care portion of the class while Brannon taught the firearms portion. Both have a wealth of knowledge in both fields and worked well jumping in with each other while instructing and in discussions with the class. This was my first “trauma” class to take but after listening to respected friends and instructors I have come away with the view that in civilian life you will have a greater opportunity to use medical training than actually using a firearm in a lethal encounter. That said I’m not discounting firearms training and the fact that this was advanced handgun made it all the better. So the mindset I went into this class with was “if your going to know how to poke holes you better know how to plug them too.”

The class started with a general why are you here and what are you looking to get from the class. There were short intros and it was off and running. The amount of information covered was considerable but the way the curriculum was presented made it easy to take it in. Be ready to take notes! There is no way you can absorb the information without them and be ready for smoke flying off your pen! All kidding aside I took extensive notes and Lee provided us with the PowerPoint so I’ve been able to go back and fill some holes putting the two together. So here is just a list of what was covered:

Ethics and legality

Psychology and Physiology under stress

Body Alarm Response

Safety and scene considerations

Situational Awareness

Basic Anatomy and Physiology and Assessment

Treatment of Systemic Injuries

Tourniquets, Bandages, Hemostatic Agents, Occlusive Devices, Nasal Airway

Minor Injuries

Recovery Position

Gunshot Wounds

Stabbing/Impaled Objects

Amputations

Flail Chest

Sucking Chest Wound (all chest wounds suck!)

Tension Pneumothorax

Facial Injuries

Shock

Victim Movement

Cover Vs. Concealment

911 Communication

So you can see there was a ton covered in the classroom. The fact that Lee is a EMT and Brannon a LEO there was a priceless amount of life experience and application that went with all the above. The rest of the day was spent in hands on training. Wound packing was practiced on a cut of beef that had a 9mm and 40 gunshot wounds. Tourniquets were applied to patients and to yourself using CAT, SOFTT-W, and SWAT-T. Nasal airway and bandages were preformed on Resusci Anne. The class was fairly small so the hands on portion was extensive and with lots of one on one with Lee and Brannon. I found while working with the different tourniquets putting them on others and applying them to myself which ones worked well for me in both circumstances and what ones are now in my IFAK’s.

The second day was on the range and started with the safety brief and covering the four life safety rules. We jumped right into shooting strong hand only and support hand only. This lead into manipulating your firearm with one hand. Can you reach the mag release or the slide release if you only have your support hand. What do you need to do if your slide doesn’t lock back in a reload with one hand. Reloads with strong and support hand only. It was stressed that it’s not about speed it’s thinking through problem and solving it. One great thing about Lee and Brannon is there was no “you have to do it this way.” Brannon stressed that you may have to go way outside the box to solve a problem but as long as you can do it safely make it work! So as if this wasn’t enough tourniquets were introduced into the equation along with cover and concealment. So the evolution eventually was address the threat, find cover, address your injury, assess your firearm, and reassess the situation. We moved on into fighting from cover and concealment and shooting strong/support hand only and how to minimize your exposure to a threat. We broke for lunch and then the rain came, heavily. So heavily that the range was flooded and shooting wasn’t going to happen. So it was back up fifteen yards and punt and Brannon and Lee incorporated some force on force training on a covered porch. Simunitions were used and this turned into a very intense training session. This is the way it unfolded. You were equipped with a Glock 17, 2 tourniquets, Israeli Bandage, and a chest seal. You were introduced to a scene where there could be one or multiple injuries. Patients may or may not be responsive, unknown subjects entering the scene, and unknown threats entering the scene. Needless to say it got chaotic, my first evolution I had one patient who was shot in the left leg, a little small hobbit looking guy wondering what was going on, a bad guy who returned to finish the job while I was treating the patient, and I got shot in the right arm! So this is where you had to put it all together. First neutralize the threat, get to cover/concealment, asses injuries (yours and theirs), reassess the situation. This by far put the whole class together for me. The class ended with a debrief where we were all asked for a positive and a negative on the class. I think this is great because it’s a opportunity to tell Lee and Brannon what you liked and what you feel can be improved

I could go on for days on what I learned from this class and obviously this is a AAR and I don’t want to drone on. Here it is. TAKE THIS CLASS!!!!! If you carry a gun you should be carrying a medical/IFAK kit of some kind. Who knows when/where/how you will use it. I’m a truck driver by trade and who knows when I will roll up on a accident where I can at least help someone till the professionals get there. It’s all about mindset. If you are going to put all that effort into training put the same amount of effort into training that can save a person too! Just my two cents. If you are wondering if you get your money’s worth, a thousand times yes. Lee and Brannon put on a exceptional class and I will be training with both of them again.

Nathan | November, 2013

I recently completed the Combative Weapon Solutions Pistol 1 class, and enjoyed it immensely. These guys know their stuff, are personable, patient, and fun. The knowledge I took away with me is invaluable, and I look forward to working with them again in the near future. If you’re considering taking a class with CWS, do it, you won’t regret it. Thanks Lee and Chris, you guys are providing a tremendously worthwhile service. Keep up the good work!

Tyler | September, 2013

Pistol 1 and Pistol 2 are the best two courses you could take as a CHL holder. These classes are more than just learning how to shoot.  You start with the fundamentals and then build on those fundamentals.  You then continue on until you are proficient in some very extraordinary scenarios.  Both Lee and Chris are experts in this field and make learning very enjoyable even though they both put you in some very stressful situations.  I have now had the experience in firing a pistol in very unordinary positions and came out of the experience feeling pretty confident in my abilities.  In addition, these two courses have shown me that I still have a lot more that I can learn and I plan on taking more courses from Lee and Chris.  I have 25 years of military service and I can tell you that I have never had this in-depth of training.  I would recommend these courses to companies and to individuals, both men and women alike.

Horace | September, 2013

“Most don’t think it will happen to them, I never thought it would, but it can and it did – the experience of intruders trying to get into your home in the middle of the night while you are home with your children – scary, frightening, many emotions come to play but the anxiety is the one that lingers. My remedy came when I was informed about the Women’s Only Defensive Handgun 1 training class. Taking this class with Lee and Chris was the push of confidence I needed. They were professional, safe, worked at a pace everyone could follow, and made the entire learning experience comfortable! In the past, my understanding of a firearm was minimal and I was typically nervous, however, since the class, I have gained a level of comfort and knowledge of using a firearm safely in order to be better prepared should a situation arise. The class exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend it to anyone interested!”

Tana | April, 2013

Wow! I didn’t know how little I really knew about handguns and putting them to use until I got to spend a few hours with you in one-on-one training this morning. I had a blast going through the fundamentals with you and it was much more fun than firing my weapon on the static line.

First of all, thanks for being patient. All too often I’ve encountered instructors that made me or other students feel stupid or embarrassed for either not understanding what was being taught or not being able to put it into practice consistently. You never raised your voice or made me feel anything less than a fellow firearms enthusiast. Your verbal reminders were well-timed and primarily based on safety.

Next, thanks for giving me a great overview of the basics – general firearm safety, grip position, effective magazine changes, shooting stance and posture, trigger mechanics, aiming and firing in succession, etc. We went on to do some of the more advanced training like moving between shots and shooting under duress to more closely simulate a live condition. Never have I understood better how important it is to be comfortable with your gear and to practice until proper form becomes second nature. I look forward to putting your instruction into practice as I return to the range in the future.

Finally, thanks for introducing me to a whole new way to look at the use of a pistol. You took the time to explain the philosophy of the shooter and why we did things the way we were doing them. I look forward to training with you again and becoming a student that you can be proud of. I would highly recommend you as an instructor to anyone wanting to learn the basics of combative handgun deployment.

Sincerely,
Glen Smith | June 22, 2012

Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed the handgun class on 3/3/12. I found the class to be very valuable and informative. Even though I am very comfortable with handling and shooting rifles and shotguns, I was not concerning handguns. And even though I have had my handgun several years, and have shot it many times, I was intimidated by it. Never really feeling at ease, in handling it. Both, my accuracy and my confidence have increased measurably, because of your class. I now feel I can safely, correctly and confidently, operate my handgun. And if the need arose, be better able to protect myself and loved ones. And, it was a lot of fun! No doubt, everyone, from the novice to a more experienced shooter, could benefit from it. Definitely a day well spent! Thanks!

Randy | March 10, 2012

The Defensive Pistol class I attended was Top Notch. I have been around firearms all my life. I thought I knew how to handle my weapons. This class really opened my eyes and showed me that I had alot to learn. All of the basics that I believed to be correct, were just a little off. From the proper grip and stance to the simulated chaos, I was constantly being educated. I gained a great deal from the different training evolutions presented. And the best part of all, we got to do alot of shooting. This wasn’t a class where you just throw a couple rounds down range. You have the opportunity to really hone your skills with hundreds of rounds and multiple mag changes.
I highly recommend this class to both beginners who have never been around pistols but wants to learn, and to experienced shooters who feel comfortable with their skills and ability. You will gain knowledge, confidence, and accuracy. Lee and J.R. were excellent instructors and gave me their time and insight to make me a better sportsman. I will definately be signing up for more training from them.

Chad | March 10, 2012

ONE OF THE BEST INVESTMENTS THAT I HAVE EVER MADE!

Combative Weapon Solutions with Lee Vernon is a very professional and educational program that will help prepare you with the knowledge and confidence to defend your family and friends when called upon.
After becoming a CHL holder I wanted to insure, that if I ever had to use my weapon, that I would have the confidence and training to deploy my weapon properly to keep from injuring myself and others. At the end of the lesson I can honestly say that through Lee’s efficient method of teaching and drills that I can effectively deploy my weapon and be on target.
Don’t wait until that time comes to find out if you can successfully deploy your weapon and protect your family from harm, because the odds are you will only get one chance. I highly recommend ICS training from Lee Vernon to give you the proper skill set to keep you and your family safe.

Chris Blazek | October 31, 2010

Law Enforcement:

Lee Vernon…What can I say? I thoroughly enjoy each and every time that I have the opportunity to shoot with you. As a firearms instructor and a former law enforcement officer I have the greatest respect for the new skills that you have taught me. I have truly learned that there is so much more to shooting than “just shooting.” The passion that you have for firearms training and safety is incredible, it shows in every class. I have met and worked with many instructors but I have found none to offer the professionalism, care and concern, passion for firearms, or knowledge that you possess. Keep doing what you are doing. You are the best!!!!!

Davidd T. | March 9, 2012

I had the best time at the Defensive Pistol 1 class this past weekend. It was absolutely incredible. I am a former law enforcement officer and have been around guns and had my own gun since I was 18. I have NEVER had a training that was as complete, thorough and exciting as this class. In the police academy I was taught to shoot targets in a controlled environment. In Lee’s class I was taught how to shoot under pressure with a simulated adrenalin rush. I was taught how to rapid fire and when sighting is important (distance) and when it is not as vital. I learned proper finger placement on the trigger and various reloading skills along with weapon failure and how to clear my weapon. I was confident before, but now I am positive that I know my gun and can use it without ANY hesitation or thought of my lack of skill. In one day I learned more than I did in 8 years on a big city police department. THANK YOU LEE…….I will continue learning and taking classes from you…thank you for your commitment to educating EVERYONE on proper gun use and safety.

Michelle N. | March 6, 2012

I highly recommend the Tactical First Aid class!

Lee Vernon gave me a class on tactical medical techniques and life saving a few weeks ago. I am a self defense teacher and I knew that I needed to increase my skills in this area in case of the worst case scenario. I knew Lee as a fellow PDR Coach and self defense instructor. We spent a few hours refreshing my life saving skills and Lee was very good to share new and easy methods. He taught me the updates that I was unaware of and we worked on scenarios. He taught me many things that I never knew but he had in his skill set as a life saver. He is a proficient teacher and the course was well worth it. I gained new confidence and awareness in tactical medical. I think more self defense teachers need to consider this training and people who are responsible for others. I feel more confident in thinking about having to use these skills in the future and recommend Lee to anyone. He is a guy that cares about getting the right knowledge across and he cares about people.

Lee – Robb picked up on many of the refresher skills that were locked up from years past and did great on learning the new methods and tactics that are currently being used in the field today. First Aid is not the same as it was 10, 15, or 20 years ago. With modern technology and science, first aid is more than just “putting a band aid” or “walking it off”. Especially when as a self defense instructor, we are personally responsible for others when they are in our hands. Beyond teaching self defense, having first aid skills can potentially save the life of another human being when help (fire, EMS, police) is delayed. I will have more to this and a humbling story following shortly….

Per Robb Hamic:

I watched a woman die today. It sucked and I wish that it didn’t happen. Unintended consequences of a severe traffic accident in Albuquerque. I am writing a blog about today because I want to share my experience because I think others can learn from it.

It was a normal day. My student was driving and we were going to do tactical training in West Albuquerque. I saw a truck hit a small car broadside, I called it a T-Bone when I was a cop. The truck rolled and the car was pushed way out of the intersection, caving in on the passenger side. There was a car to our left but the accident happened in our lane, maybe 10 car lengths in front of us. I am a former police officer and I have been a first responder many times as a police officer. This time was different.

I told my student to call 911 and gave the location. I got out of the truck before it stopped and ran over to the car that had the most damage. People were screaming. The driver was trapped and injured. The passenger was unconscious and had very sever damages as evidenced by the bleeding from her ears. Her tongue was sticking out of her mouth and obstructing her breathing. I didn’t see any chest movement and thought she may be dead. I checked her pulse and it was there, barely.

I am a professional self-defense teacher. I decided that I needed more medical training a few weeks ago and received tactical medical training from my friend and veteran Austin EMT, Lee Vernon. I had previously received medical training the the Army and in the Sheriff’s Academy but that was long ago and it was not enough. I train in reality and use guns and knives. I knew it was my ethical responsibility to increase my knowledge in this area because of the potential of injury in training. I train in far off places and medical attention is often non-existent or far away. Lee’s course was extensive and it brought modern life saving skills into my consciousness. I learned many things that I never knew. I was complacent in this area and I didn’t consider consequences often enough. I challenged myself to prepare.

The woman didn’t look good, her pulse was faint but she was alive. She needed airway. I pushed her tongue back into her mouth and tilted her head back to get a C-spine. She gasped and had air. She had airway, breathing and circulation. We waited for the police to arrive. Another bystander came on the wreck and I asked him to hold a C-spine on the driver because she was obviously inured severely, although conscious. A woman approached and I heard her say she was a nurse so I asked her to take over as she had better skills than me.
Firefighters arrived. Ambulance, more police and the helicopter was on the way. It was about to land and I heard “she’s 10-7.” The helicopter didn’t land because she died. It was a foregone conclusion due to her fatal injuries. Sad.

Tactical Medical skills are essential for teachers and protection professionals. Most of us do not possess enough and we should make that admission and seek training. If not for our students, for the unintended consequences of life. Family, friends or people we choose to help. As a police officer, I came upon many similar accidents but had no ability to affect a situation such as this. I had no initiative because I had no confidence in my skills as a lifesaver. I saved lives but it was different, maybe just luck, or it involved using my police skills. We may all be called upon to use our skills at any given moment. You possess them or you don’t. I know I did my best and if circumstances were different she may have lived because of the triage and actions that I took. She didn’t though, because of unintended consequences. RIP Ma’am.

Robb Hamic | August 2, 2010

Military:

To be honest, this was the fist handgun training course I had taken outside the Navy.  I am a retired Naval Aviator and though we had pistol qualifications, it was not of the caliber required to become proficient and prepare yourself for the responsibilities of concealed carry.  So to start out, I did not know what to expect but as a retired military officer, I do expect certain qualities in any course or class I take; professionalism, subject matter experts, instructor leadership, confidence, etc.  I can honestly say CWS, led by Lee Vernon, exceeded all my expectations.  They were professional, great personalities, able to relate to the students and push the students to limit without going over into a grey area where safety is compromised.  There was a lot to learn in two days but again, the instructors all did a fantastic job of communicating the days lesson, demonstrating the drills, keeping stress on to aid training all the while keeping a safe environment in which to train.   I absolutely recommend CWS for the novice to expert, to either learn or fine tune their skills as there is always room to grow, learn from others who have been there done that.  Outstanding class of people and company.  The course I took was the Urban Defense/Low Light handgun course.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Chris M. | March, 2014

I just took a tactical handgun class with Lee yesterday. It was an awesome class and experience. I hadn’t shot that much in a long time. Lee does a great job at breaking down steps and skills while combining fun and safe shooting activities that push you out of your comfort zone. While I came from a military background with some experience shooitng carbines and handguns, Lee’s class is great for those with various levels of experience. Even as a miltary policeman, I never shot that many rounds in one day while getting, what I feel, is top notch instruction. I will be a return customer as well as watching his training calendar.

July 20, 2012 | Danny Wynn

Did your parents give you the car-keys without one hands-on lesson? Would you feel comfortable using the Cut-away if your main parachute malfunctions after a five-minute lesson? How are you feeling right now? Do you feel safe because you carry a handgun? Well, I have news for you, if you don’t learn the applying fundamentals of pistol handling while under stress by Lee Vernon, you might want to leave your handgun locked in a safe place. A few weeks ago I was fortunate to participate in a private lesson by Combative Weapons Solutions and it was one of the best hands-on classes I have taken in my life. This course is a basic introduction to combative handgun fundamentals and it will help all levels of shooters. I feel so much better in my shooting abilities and plan to bring my wife for the next class.

This handgun training is given at a private range and the Lee incorporates real life scenarios along with core fundamentals, physical, emotional, and psychological aspects of a dynamic incident, movement and shooting, reloading, and threat identification while under stress. All of which helps you to create the proper foundation and mind-set to effectively deploy and use deadly force if necessary. I have no idea what your particular reasons are to carry a handgun but if you seriously want to keep your loved ones safe you need to call Lee Vernon immediately and talk to him about your particular needs.

I am a combat veteran and would highly recommend any courses given by Lee Vernon because he fully understands the proper dynamics of a real life confrontation. Lee’s knowledge and attention to details sets him apart from other similar hands-on handgun instructors. I have known Lee for a few years and I can honestly say that if you own a handgun, “The Combative Pistol Handling Class” is something for you to seriously consider.

If you are still not sure if this handgun course is for you, feel free to send me an email.

Orlando O’Neill | June 19, 2012
orlando3@comcast.net
Krav-Maga Instructor
US ARMY INFANTRY Combat Veteran

The Combative Weapon Solutions Combative Pistol Course will:

1. PREPARE YOU TO DEFEND YOURSELF WITH CONFIDENCE
2. TEACH YOU ABOUT YOURSELF AND YOUR WEAPON IN STRESSFUL SITUATIONS
3. ALLOW YOU TO SEE IMPROVEMENT FROM YOUR FIRST ROUND DOWN RANGE TO THE LAST.

Lee instructed me last week on tactical gun deployment. His class opened my eyes. Being an Army Ranger with eight years experience in the military with a deployment to Iraq I figured “what could Lee teach me that I already didn’t know?” I was in for a surprise. Lee’s instruction was top notch and very professional. We started off with the basics of stance and the efficiency of the draw. He ran me through all the firing stances and then we started practicing contingencies like jams and reloading and reloading in stressful situations. We did a lot of dry firing at first which was very important. As the training progressed I realized that I wasn’t as comfortable with my weapon as I thought I was. By the end of the dry runs I felt like I could safely and confidently use my weapon if the situation arose.

Lee gave me great instruction as we went live and we ran through many different scenarios. We went through mass and precision firing, multiple targets, closing on the target and taking cover and firing. Also multiple mag changes and jam scenarios. I will tell you with my first ten shots at the target I only hit it three times. By the end of the lesson I was hitting most everything center mass or head shots from various distances, with unthinking confidence and smoothness. Under Lee’s professional instruction I was confidently drawing and firing my weapon and hitting the target consistently. I saw a huge improvement in just a few hours.

If you are considering carrying a concealed weapon or have a weapon at home. I would highly recommend that you take Lee’s class. There is a huge and dangerous difference between thinking you know how to deploy your weapon and confidently knowing how to. Don’t wait until that life and death scenario is staring you in your face. In that instant it comes down to training with your weapon, confidence in yourself and your weapon and being calm. This class will prepare you for that instance.

September 20, 2010 | Andrew Corbin

CWS will “qualify” you to react RESPONSIVELY and EFFECTIVELY to danger for the safety of yourself and those around you……

This past Friday, July 30th, I had the opportunity to participate in a one on one tactical gun deployment training class with Lee from Combative Weapon Solutions. As a former Army Captain, I have had just a small bit of familiarity in basic pistol marksmanship, however the training the Army provides is just that, target marksmanship. You stand your required distance away from the target, fire your set amount of rounds, you get at least a minimum amount in the target area, your are now “qualified,” whatever that may mean. Essentially – it means for any practical purposes, I considered myself to possess zero kills in the use of a pistol.

When preparing for deployment training, you take your rifle through shoothouses, urban scenarios, long range battlefield scenarios, multiple target actions, and get to run through all the issues you can think of on the battlefield. But you do not get this with the pistol – which I believe could be a detriment to the force. Now if you pull yourself out of “Army land” and back into the real world, where thousands of people with CHLs have sat through their required classroom time, and then gone to do that Army-like “qualification,” they are now considered licensed. But are they effective, responsible users of their rights?

The first thing you learn with CWSs class, is familiarity with your weapon. Through and through, you go through (with lack of a better word) so many quickdraw exercises that require you to familiarize yourself completely with the workings of the pistol you are using. This is an important step – perhaps the most important from my perspective…… because you will not be able to just pick up any pistol and be able react appropriately without practicing how this weapon specifically works. Does the holster have a safety lock? Does the pistol have a safety? Does this pistol require more force to chamber the round than another? Do they sit differently on your hip? Does the holster angle forward or sit level? So if you have several different pistols, you should practice these techniques Lee shows you with all of them, keeping you prepared for the weapon you are using at that particular time.

After those drills, that work of your natural body response and familiarize you with your weapon at the same time, we commenced firing. Initially, those with military or police type of training may get caught up a few times here. While the military will definitely go through all sorts of scenarios, at the end of the day, safety sometimes becomes so big of a beast it detracts from training. Case in point – Basic rifle marksmanship – your weapon jams, your go through your clearing procedures, and it doesn’t work. You stop what you are doing, a lane safety raises a flag behind you. Everyone stops what they are doing and waits while your weapon gets assessed. Not very practical….. Is the enemy going to wait? Will an assailant on the street? CWS takes it to the next level. You clear, you fire. If you are unsuccessful, you are thinking what is your next step to incapacitate or eliminate your target. It takes a bit of practice to get your head out of “range” mode. and really works the “train as you fight” scenario.

CWS’s Combative Pistol training class to me, is as necessary – if not more so – for any person seeking to get a CHL. Where the CHL class will license you to carry your firearm, CWS will “qualify” you to react RESPONSIVELY and EFFECTIVELY to danger for the safety of yourself and those around you – something that the basic CHL class is woefully missing in training people of society to carry firearms. Training such as this is a benefit to carriers across the country by producing safer, more effective and knowledgeable carriers.

Mark Vernon | August 2, 2010
Former CPT
US Army Corps of Engineers

Women:

Pistol 1 Fundamentals with Lee Vernon – Donna S.
 
Let me begin by saying I strongly recommend this trainer and any of his company’s training programs.  Lee was professional, knowledgeable and willing to patiently step through the basics to assure my core competencies by the end of the day.  And he’s a very good guy.
In May 2014 I successfully completed (for the third time) the CHL course and associated requirements.  I have, since 2009 chosen to NOT get the CHL due to my own lack of skill and experience with respect to handling a handgun.  Other than hunting…any gun really.
This last time around I decided to get professional training prior to submitting my application for the CHL in Texas.
I found Lee Vernon online, talked about my lack of experience and moderate comfort handling my handgun (HK45 Auto).  Individual training seems the best place (least intimidating) to start.  It is in fact a life or death skill set to maintain.
As we started, I was tentative as I loaded and handled my handgun, uncomfortable with my stance, anticipating shots and no precision…I could hit the target but not with intent or competence.
That was all quickly corrected (within the first fifteen minutes!!) and although within my first six hours I’m not a great marksman (yet!), I can load, re-load, holster, change magazines, know the difference between precision and speed shooting and I have an understanding of precisely what weaknesses I need to work on.  And…I can clean my pistol comfortably and more importantly…safely.
Can’t wait until I’m more physically fit to take Pistol 2 Fundamentals in 2015!
Thank you Lee and Team CWS!
Best Regards,

Donna

Donna S. | Sept, 2014

I recently took their CHL class and it was amazing.  Very informative and a lot of fun.  Not only did we cover the standard curriculum, but we also learned important shooting technique.  If your going to be a gun owner its important to have sound knowledge and accurate training with your weapon and this company provided both.  I was nervous going into the class and was made to feel right at ease from the beginning.  Lee was our instructor and was very open and accommodating to the different learning styles of the participants.  I will continue to take classes from these guys because they know what they are doing, and they care about your overall experience in their class.  Learned a lot and feel a ton more comfortable being a responsible gun owner now; plus they are a lot of fun and had me smiling & laughing all day.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Kai O. | August, 2014

I took the CHL class today and it was definitely eye opening.  I didn’t expect to walk out with all of the knowledge that I received today.  It is definitely not as easy as one might think.  It’s not just shooting a target.  I have a lot to learn and a long way to go to become well trained and I will continue to take classes that this company offers.  Lee Vernon was our tactical instructor and I was very impressed by what he had to teach us.  Matt taught us about Texas law and that really changed my way of thinking.  I will definitely be taking more classes through this group of guys.  Highly recommend them to anyone who is looking to become more knowledgeable about owning and handling a handgun.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin?hrid=e7w2iji1aZCuxQ86fWLRAg

Jennifer O. | July, 2014

Completed the 1 Day Critical Care Concepts Class today.  There was a TON of good information given and opportunities to put the information into practice. Lee knows his stuff and has years of hands on experience to draw from. The class was laid back and as a female I did not once feel out of place or unwelcome. This is not one of those crappy chauvinist businesses that you hear about. After today I honestly feel like I would be able to help in a trauma situation rather then standing around and being in the way. I am really looking forward to future classes with them.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin 

Whitney H. | July, 2014

In one class, Lee Vernon & Paul Martinez of Combative Weapon Solutions and Mat Unruh of Round 2 Brass molded this “Barney Fife” into a confident gun user – rackin’ the slide with ease. Lee’s detailed demonstration; clear, succinct instruction; and handy visual cues made it easy to implement and replicate proper shooting stance and technique. They apply their personal knowledge of service to their country and communities when teaching the class. Lee not only wants students to learn about firing a weapon but also the responsibility that comes along with it. My husband and I intend to take several CSW’s classes to hone our practical-use skills. Old, young, beginner or advanced – there’s a CSW class for you. Consummate pros, extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Plus, they’re genuinely nice guys.

Thanks again.

Vanessa C. | April, 2014

Just recently attended the low-light/night-light shooting class.  I can’t say enough about this training.  Owning a firearm for self-defense, I feel it is imperative to have practical training in how to use it.  When I first began to consider training, of course, I went to an indoor range to practice.  But it became evident fairly early on that this would not be enough.  I knew that I wanted to be able to train in practical scenarios so that should I ever need to draw my firearm, I could do so responsibly.  CWS hits the ball out of the park in terms of providing this kind of training.  Every firearm owner should take their classes.  This was my first class with CWS but it definitely will not be my last!!  Thank you CWS for providing this kind of training, it’s truly a service to those of us who own firearms!

http://www.yelp.com/biz/combative-weapon-solutions-austin

Melissa P. | March, 2014

So many things I walked away with from that class, not the least of which is that I have more confidence just driving down the road that if a situation arose I’m confident I’d be an asset rather than a burden or liability to someone. I learned things that I never thought I’d know or even want to know. Did things I never imagined I could do. I know I’m even a better asset to my family in my own home.

When I’ve talked to people about the class I can’t sing y’all’s praises enough. Hell, people are so surprised at what we were doing and what we were doing it in – but I wanted to say bring it on. It was cold, it was raining, and just like any other day – we don’t get to choose the situation. I have a select few guys sitting on my shoulder at all times, one of them being Ben, and I’ve learned not to make excuses but to make opportunities to learn and train past my barriers, breaking points, physical sometimes but mental the most.

I enjoyed all parts of that class. I like classroom bc I dig learning and getting that info down so I can reference it later. On the line I appreciate that we moved pretty quickly so I didn’t have time to get bored or irritated with myself or concentrate too hard on what I was doing; typically my downfall.

L O V E D the finals, although, right before I went each time I felt like I was going to pee my pants. Lucky y’all I didn’t. I got to see where my failure points were; example: getting easily frustrated with the tourniquet bc I knew I knew how to use it – and what my natural tendencies were; example: first time Brannon walked up and talked to me over the concealment I ignored him bc I usually don’t ask for help, I do things by myself. And what a freaking rush it was. Was SO proud of myself that I was accurate under stress and got multiple hits on Brannon both times with minimal effort, one malfunction and no mag changes.

One of the coolest classes, felt 10 feet tall when I left – full of info, not bullshit. Would totally do it again, and I already told you were are planning on your class next year with Kerry Davis.

Thank you and Brannon for the opportunity to learn from your wealth of knowledge. Thank you for being such a cool, approachable guy who was willing to listen and teach. Much appreciated and see you soon.

Regards,

Jessica | November, 2013

 

Dear Lee: This is the second time I have had experience with your classes, rather this is the second time I have trusted you to teach me how to protect myself. Thank you so much for offering this instruction; it takes a very certain caliber of person to be a teacher. This class was overwhelming for me, I “hit the wall”. That isn’t a bad thing, it showed me what my limits are in a stressful situation. I was very surprised to have the reaction I did and I am still trying to understand it. I do believe it was my body’s reaction to stress, I was cold, it was in the low 60’s, and the material and the activites were new to me, so after a certain time period my brain said “take a break”.

My “crying” was not due to anything you did, you were exceptionally patient and you gave me a lot of individual attention. At no time did I feel that I was in danger or did I feel that I was a danger to anyone else, kudo’s to you for having extra help. What this experience taught me is that 1. I don’t have enough exposure to guns and practice using guns and 2. I don’t have experience in stressful situations. So, this was a learning experience and I know where to go from here. The subject matter of your class was just what I needed. It had been years since I had handled a pistol and I have forgotten all my previous lessons. The portion of the class on gun mechanics taught me that a gun is a machine that you must look at to understand, it can be taken apart, it can be put back together, it has moving parts that jam but it can be fixed, it’s just a machine. Learning about the “work space” keep the gun where you can see it just made sense and increased my comfort with gun handling. Of course you need to keep the gun where you can see it, why would you have it anyplace else other than the holster? The shooting experience was invaluable, I am so glad we shot so many rounds, your class was more action than theory and that is what I needed, experience and practice. I have been repeating stance, grip, sight, trigger and I believe that those four words will become my “mantra” whenever I pick up a gun and those four words will give me confidence to use a gun. Never before have I realized that if you shoot one bullet at a “bad thing” that one bullet would not stop it, never before have I realized that the “bad thing” will most likely be moving!!! WOW, what WAS I thinking? Thanks for opening my eyes to reality and teaching me to MOVE while holding a loaded pistol. Yes, I need to learn more and I need to practice more but this was a beginning and I plan on getting much more practice. I want to thank the other members of the class. The other guys/girls were so forgiving of having a “newbie” among them, and those two sweet guys who helped me load my magazines, gosh they were great. The class was a mixture of newbies and experienced shooters and everyone in that class fiercely believes in the importance of handling a gun correctly, I think that is why the experienced ones had patience with us newbies. Or it could be that it’s because they are just decent people with great ethics and morals. How cool is that, that the people in this world who know how to handle firearms are responsible members of society?

Thank you so very, very much. With love,
Trish | March 4, 2012

I had never seen, held, let alone shot a gun before today. I have wanted to learn about handguns since I was in college but had not had the opportunity. Lee and J.R. created a comfortable learning environment. I do not own a gun and still may not purchase one, but after taking this class, I feel a respect for rather than a fear of a handgun. That in and of itself is very empowering. I appreciated the frank and patient attitude of the instructors. I could not have done what I did today were it not for Lee’s help. I truly am changed by the experience and for the better. I hope to continue practicing this new skill. I highly recommend anyone, especially, first-timers, to take a class from Combative Weapon Solutions.

Stephanie | March 3, 2012

I recently attended a Womens Defensive Firearms Course taught by Lee Vernon. Although I had fired pistols in the past I had never fired the pistol my husband bought for me to carry nor have I ever been very comfortable with them in general. To be honest I was a little nervous about the class and really didn’t know what to expect. It wasn’t long before I was not only comfortable shooting, loading and firing my weapon but was having a great time doing it. The entire experience was great. It was the fastest 5 hours and 200 rounds ever. I can’t wait for the next class. I highly recommend taking the course…as a matter of fact I have been recruiting friends and family members to give the class a try.

Thank you Lee for taking all of us women on and making us feel safe with our guns.
June 2, 2011 | Dana

I just took a private class with Lee. I had never even picked up a gun before this day. I was intimidated and a little nervous to say the least. My husband bought me gun for christmas and as a means of self defense. He wanted to make sure I had the best individualized training available. Lee was great at explaining everything I needed to know about handling a gun, taking it apart, cleaning it, gun safety, etc.

By the time we came around to shooting the gun, I felt confident in first handling it. After my initial few rounds I instantly realized the gun I had (baby glock) was too small for my hands and I was having a hard time aiming. Lee graciously suggested I use his glock 19 for the remainder of our lesson. I instantly did better w/ his gun.

The whole experience was incredible. We shot at least 400 rounds and by the end i felt safe and comfortable and ready. The training was so versatile and realistic. We played through real life possible scenarios. Lee was consistent and very observant, correcting me when he saw my form was off. I will absolutely be moving on to the CHL course with Lee!

Sherine Klann | March 10, 2011

Facebook
Google+
TWITTER
YouTube